

Working in Partnership



Lewes District Council

Planning Applications Committee

Minutes of the meeting held in the Council Chamber, County Hall, St Anne's Crescent, Lewes, East Sussex, BN7 1UE, on 7 August 2019 at 5.00pm

Present:

Councillors Steve Saunders (Deputy-Chair), Graham Amy, Lynda Duhigg, Tom Jones, Sylvia Lord, Sean MacLeod, Imogen Makepeace, Laurence O'Connor, Nicola Papanicolaou and Jim Lord

Officers in attendance:

Jennifer Baxter (Specialist Advisor, Planning Enforcement) Andrew Hill (Senior Specialist Advisor, Planning) Helen Monaghan (Lawyer, Planning) Jennifer Norman (Committee Officer, Democratic Services) Elaine Roberts (Committee Officer, Democratic Services)

26 Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on 26 June 2019 were submitted and approved, and the Chair was authorised to sign them as a correct record.

27 Apologies for absence/Declaration of substitute members

Apologies for absence had been received from Councillors Sharon Davy and Christoph von Kurthy. Councillor Jim Lord declared he was acting as substitute for Councillor Davy for the duration of the meeting.

28 Declarations of interest

There were none.

29 Petitions

There were none.

30 Written questions from councillors

There were none.

31 LW/19/0324 - 54 Arundel Road, Denton, Newhaven, East Sussex, BN9 0NF

Darren Moore (Agent) and Mr D Liggett (Applicant) spoke for the proposal.

Resolved:

That planning application LW/19/0324 for a proposed 2-bed dwelling to the side, single storey rear extension and alterations be approved, subject to the condition and informative on the Supplemental Report, including CTLA bus service on the informative and an additional informative concerning decoration of the existing dwelling and the conditions set out in the report.

(Note: The Council's Lawyer advised and Councillor O'Connor agreed that due to his predetermination on the application, he would not take part in any further discussion or voting thereon for the remainder of this agenda item.)

32 SDNP/19/02185/HOUS - 4 Park Road, Lewes, East Sussex, BN7 1BN

Jolyon Brewis (Agent and Applicant) spoke for the proposal.

Resolved:

That planning application SDNP/19/02185/HOUS for a first floor extension to existing single-storey house including timber cladding with black window frames, photovoltaic panels mounted at new roof level, new ground floor entrance lobbies and replacement windows, with timber spandrel panels to match new first floor extension, new sedum-planted roof coverings to existing flat roofs, and general improvements to hard landscaping to front of house be approved, subject to the conditions set out in the report and supplementary report.

33 Enforcement Monitoring from 1 April 2019 to 30 June 2019 (Part A)

Resolved:

That the report which provided an overview of planning enforcement matters throughout Lewes District during the period 1 April 2019 to 30 June 2019, be noted.

34 Enforcement Monitoring from 1 April 2019 to 30 June 2019 (Part B)

Resolved:

That the report which detailed planning enforcement cases throughout Lewes District which have had notices authorised and/or served within the quarter of 1 April 2019 to 30 June 2019, be noted.

35 Summary of appeal decisions received from 1 April 2019 to 30 June 2019

Resolved:

That the appeal decisions received from 1 April 2019 to 30 June 2019, be noted.

36 Summary of SDNPA appeal decisions received from 27 February 2019 to 24 June 2019

Resolved:

That the SDNPA (South Downs National Park Authority) appeal decisions received from 27 February 2019 to 24 June 2019, be noted.

(Note: On behalf of the Committee, the Chair expressed his thanks to the Specialist Advisor (Planning Enforcement) and Senior Specialist Advisor (Planning) for all of their continued hard work and dedication in relation to planning matters across Lewes District.)

37 Date of next meeting

Resolved:

That the next meeting of the Planning Applications Committee that is scheduled to be held on Wednesday, 28 August 2019 in the Council Chamber, County Hall, St Anne's Crescent, Lewes, BN7 1UE, commencing at 5:00pm, be noted.

The meeting ended at 6.12pm.

Councillor Steve Saunders (Chair)